Regional Efficiency Standards Reminder


Regional Efficiency Standards and 
Record-keeping Recap

While we can breathe a sigh of relief that no new efficiency or record-keeping regulations are taking effect in 2017, there are still plenty of rules to follow. Let’s review the regional efficiency and record-keeping standards that the U.S. Department of Energy has implemented over the past few years: 

Recap of the 2015 Regional Efficiency Standards

The minimum efficiency standards for AIR CONDITIONERS divide the country into three regions: the North, Southeast and Southwest, as shown in the map and chart below.

Efficiency Standards for Split and Packaged Air Conditioners

The HEAT PUMP minimum efficiency requirements fall under a national standard of 14 SEER across the board. Split-system heat pumps must achieve a minimum of 8.2 HSPF and packaged heat pumps need to hit an 8.0 HSPF. For dual fuel packaged units, there is an added requirement of 81% AFUE.

Check out the map and chart below for more information on the new heat pump minimum efficiency requirements.

Efficiency Standards for Split and Packaged Heat Pumps

Every single-phase Heil® SPP model manufactured after January 1, 2015 meets the 2015 Minimum Efficiency Standards for the entire United States.

Whether you are in the North or Southeast regions, where the requirements for packaged gas/electric models are 14 SEER / 81% AFUE or you are in the Southwest, where the requirement is 14 SEER + 11 EER / 81% AFUE, we have an SPP that fits the bill. Or, if you are installing a packaged air conditioner, we can help you meet the 14 SEER (North and Southeast) or 14 SEER + 11 EER (Southwest) requirements for your region of the U.S. Check out the map below for more details.

Efficiency Standards for Split and Packaged Heat Pumps 

For more information on the regional efficiency standards, visit the Department of Energy.

Recap of the 2016 Record-keeping Requirements

The following table outlines the specifics regarding what information needs to be captured as part of the record retention for distributors and contractors.

Record Requirements Chart

Dealers and Contractors must keep records on the air conditioning systems they install in the Southeast and Southwest. Specifically, you must keep records on every central air conditioner installation in these states:

  • Alabama

  • Arizona

  • Arkansas

  • California

  • Delaware

  • Florida

  • Georgia

  • Hawaii

  • Kentucky

  • Louisiana

  • Maryland

  • Mississippi

  • Nevada

  • New Mexico

  • North Carolina

  • Oklahoma

  • South Carolina

  • Tennessee

  • Texas

  • Virginia

  • District of Columbia

In addition, all manufacturers and distributors are required to maintain records on the split-system and packaged air conditioners they sell.  

The following table outlines the new record retention requirements for our industry.

Record Retention Chart 

What happens if I don’t keep records?

You will be subject to significant consequences as set forth by the DOE in the 2015 Regional Minimum Efficiency Standards. The DOE has made it easy for manufacturers, distributors and contractors to report violators, and any violators are subject to investigation.

Violators found to be installing non-compliant equipment will be required to change out the equipment at their cost. The DOE may determine a Dealer with multiple violations is a “routine violator” thereby preventing distributors and manufacturers from selling to that Dealer.

For more information, visit the website.